Preschool, British Accents and Work

Cutesy wutesy theme alert. What’s not to love about a bunch of adorable animals? Takes me right back to my preschool days. It’s kind of weird, one of the earliest memories I have is of my 4th (or was it 5th?) birthday at my preschool in Bangkok. I remember a slightly blurred montage of kids of various races (very United Nations like, erm it was an international school) singing “Happy Birthday Nee-keeh-tah” and as always, I kept making snarky comments bang in the middle of it. In a very British accent (again international school). About 7 or 8 years later, I found a scratchy old videotape that I put into the VCR and there it was, a live recording and a surprisingly accurate one at that. I couldn’t understand my 5 year old me’s accent. I was jealous of my 5 year old me’s accent. How can you say no to anything when asked in a British accent, tell me this.

My lady, would you do me the great honour of jumping into these shark infested waters? I seemed to have dropped my handkerchief. Why, YES of course.

Well, dreamy Brits aside.. work is starting to really feel like work. The ID card dangled around my neck is a noose. I need a breath of fresh air. I never really did understand why people would decide to work for a smaller organization, or even for a startup. Lesser pay, lesser benefits and no brand name right? But I really get it now, I do. I always wanted to be my own boss and hell, that was the plan like ten years down the line. Until then, work for a big company they said. What they didn’t say was that you’d be another drone in the assembly line.

Sure, you’ll have a few productive days that give you a glimmer of hope (what if it gets better..?) but soon you realize its denial (and delusional). Most days are boring at best. I’m pretty sure I spent most of my time blogging, reading blogs, Facebooking or repeatedly refreshing Gmail. Oh yeah I did the project they assigned to me too, it required about two weeks of work (for a five month project). I’m glad the five months are coming to an end, and I’m even happier that I didn’t give in to the temptation of continuing in this comfortable but totally uninspiring job. I need more. I don’t know how, when or where I’m going to find it. But I refuse to waste the youth of my life sitting in front of a desk, staring at the computer screen reading about exotic places in the world.

Work has gotta be doing something you love. We’ve heard people say it, but it hits right home when you’ve lived it. I want to learn something new everyday, I want to feel like I’m a part of a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts, I want to wake up everyday looking forward to the challenges that await me – not go because I absolutely HAVE to, or take as many days off as I can without a pay cut. So until then I’m going to find something I actually enjoy doing and try not to panic at my impending state of unemployment.

10 thoughts on “Preschool, British Accents and Work

  1. Brilliant piece! I’m quite drunk right now and might not remember having commented on this tomorrow. I used to have a thick English accent from ages 6-to-9 (Queen’s English accent, London boy, me πŸ˜€ ).
    Then came back home and realised how pretentious i sounded. I have camcorder videos of it though πŸ˜›
    Again, amazing work. Agree with everything πŸ™‚

    • Ahaha, clearly you’re having more fun than I am! Thanks for reading (and commenting). There’s so much we don’t know about people, so I love hearing strange little facts like that.

  2. :). I used to have an American accent, on account of studying in Tokyo from 2nd to 4th grade.

    Nice post.

    Regarding you wanting to do your own thing; I think its a question many of our generation face, but few take the effort to answer. Most succumb to the rat race, parental/societal expectations.

    Have you read Tim Ferris’s 4-Hour Workweek? It’s not about working 4 hours a week, but having the capability and freedom to do so. Do check it out. It would be great to hear your thoughts on it.

  3. Nice! As someone who is re evaluating her own life plans , what you said echoes within me somewhere. Kudos for quitting right away instead of just saying ‘Ill plan it out and then quit’ . Nothing ever gets done if you only think about it in front of a desk at your comfortable job that gives you money, time and allows fun on weekends.

Leave a Reply

